The Liebster Award

Thanks to YoungCinemaBuffs for the nomination

liebster-award1RULES
• Thank the person who nominated you and link their blog.
• Answer the questions given by the nominator.
• Nominate 11 other bloggers who have less than 200 followers, and link them.
• Notify all the bloggers you nominate.
• Create 11 new questions for your nominees to answer.

I’m not sure who Liebster is or why there’s an award in his honour, but I’m gathering that this is really a way for blogs to promote other blogs who share common interests — that’s great. I would love to pay this honour forward as well, but I just don’t know very many other blogs (especially ones who, according to the Liebster rules, have less than 200 followers). Sorry, blog community. Nevertheless, I thought I would still share my responses to the questions posed to me for my nomination (so y’all can get to know me a little more). So here goes:

1. What is a movie you like that most people hate?

SUCKER PUNCHSucker Punch – I know people think that this movie full of huge CGI set piece fantasies for a group of young women in a creepy asylum is over-the-top ridiculous (and probably pretty sexist and exploitative) but I’m a Zack Snyder fan and I really like his visual style (though I did not love his Man of Steel movie. That was over-the-top.)

2. What is a movie you don’t like that most people love?

citizenkane2As far as classic movies go: Citizen Kane – Of course this is the pinnacle of cinematic classics, but I could not stay awake watching it and I don’t get the appeal. As for something recent, Oscar-winner Birdman did nothing for me. It just seemed like more Hollywood navel-gazing, and the whole superhero-fantasy angle seemed like an unrelated gimmick.

3. If you had to pick a different name for your blog, what would it be?

“Pop goes the world” – I don’t pretend to have delusions that I’m doing anything so important here, but I’m just chatting about pop culture that I enjoy (or don’t enjoy) and I’m able to share my opinions with people all around the globe! Fun.

4. What is your favourite movie and tv villains?

darth vaderMovie villain: Darth Vader from Star Wars – he’s just a classic in my eyes. He’s more of an icon than an actual character, but he was this pure emblem of relentless evil, and then he got redeemed! It’s a great arc.

Sideshow Bob by timshinn73
Sideshow Bob by timshinn73

TV villains: So many! Sideshow Bob from The Simpsons – he’s kind of a loser, but so fun and his diabolical-ness is wonderfully hammy. Plus, Kelsey Grammar’s voice is perfect for the role — and he looks so ironically ridiculous with his huge palm-tree hairdo. Also, Tywin Lannister from Game of Thrones. I definitely like my villains smart, and preferably erudite as well. Honourable mention to two villains both played by the amazing Michael Emerson: Ben Linus from Lost and William Hinks from The Practice

5. What movie has made you feel the most emotional?

JoyLuckClub_490PyxurzThis is going to be an unusual answer, but the movie that got the tears flowing the most is probably The Joy Luck Club. I know it’s obviously a very tear-jerking movie, but it gets me every time.

6. What season do you prefer: summer, autumn, winter or spring?

I like the autumn most. New TV season begins, kids go back to school and everything starts up again. I’m not a summer-party kind of guy so I like it when things get back down to business.

7. What is your favourite actor and actress?

cumberbatchThis is a tough question. For Actor, I used to always say Kenneth Branagh (who is still very amazing) but now I really like Benedict Cumberbatch (if not for his Sherlock alone). For Actress, my “celebrity crush” answer is Michelle Pfeiffer, but for serious, there is no actress that can hold a candle to Meryl Streep for sheer awesomeness. However, if we’re talking someone more recent, I will have to go with either Emma Stone or Carey Mulligan

8. What is you thoughts on debating?

This is an odd question. I admit that while I find arguments thrilling and often they’re my favourite kind of interaction (assuming they are not violent or hostile), but debates seem a bit lame and dull.

9. What are your favourite youtubers and why?

I assume we’re talking about musicians when we say “youtubers”, right? Well, I like Peter Hollens and Sam Tsui. They are both pretty good singers and they help me discover some of the pop music that I am pretty out-of-touch with. This is like the new “easy listening”. (They would probably hate to be characterized that way. Sorry fellas. Hey, I’m middle aged. Give me a break!). Plus, they seem like really nice people. I also like Pentatonix (such a cool group with mad skills) and Walk Off The Earth (another really fun group who impress me with their videos every time).

10. What TV series’ are you into?

game of thrones s3Oh my gosh, where to begin: Game of Thrones (natch!); almost anything sci-fi (but I miss the mega-franchises like Star Trek and Stargate); I’m enjoying The Flash; I can’t wait to watch Castle every week; I love The Good Wife (the last great lawyer show, along with Suits); I am really diggin’ Empire (trashiness brings back fond memories of 80s TV titan, Dynasty). On the comedy front, I’m still really enjoying Modern Family, Big Bang Theory, and Brooklyn Nine-nine. From the UK, Downton Abbey, Doctor Who and Sherlock are unmissable.

spurlockI also want to give special mention to certain shows that don’t get as much love in certain circles: anything by Morgan Spurlock is on the top of my list (recently Inside Man on CNN); also, there are occasionally some great cartoons that I love as well. Recently Avatar: The Legend of Korra came to an epic conclusion, and Disney’s Gravity Falls is one of my favourite shows and should be beloved of any sci-fi fan.

11. What is your most anticipated movie of 2015?

star-wars-force-awakens-trailer-2-description-888x456It’s almost boring to say, but it’s definitely Star Wars: The Force Awakens. Also Pixar’s Inside Out (they are at their best when not creating sequels) and (perhaps surprisingly) Pitch Perfect 2 — but I think it’s not going to be as good as the first one.

3 thoughts on “The Liebster Award”

    1. Thanks for following me, Toni. I’m glad we share some of the same interests. Now I have to go catch up on my GoT rewatch before the upcoming new season! Fire and Blood!

Leave a Reply

