15 Flicks for Fall 2012

As summer is more than half over, it’s time to start thinking about movies for the fall. Sadly, I didn’t end up watching all of last year’s list (at least not in the theatres). Nevertheless, here’s what I’m looking forward to (in vaguely chronological order) for Fall 2012:

1. Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn, Pt. 2

After a rough patch with the middle movies in the quadrilogy, I’m definitely looking forward to the massive vampire showdown between the Volturi and the Cullens. (I’m also looking forward to not having to watch any more Kristen Stewart movies after I’m done with this.)

2. Looper

Joseph Gordon-Levitt as a hit-man assigned to kill future time-travellers who reneges when his latest target is Bruce Willis as his future-self? Bring on the head-trip! (Oh, and Emily Blunt is in it too!!)

3. Hotel Transylvania

Monster movies are not abating, so I’m happy to watch a new, animated one from Sony animation studios.

4. Perks of Being a Wallflower

I love movies about unpopular kids getting befriended by off-beat cool kids (Hey, it’s not a wish-fulfillment thing, OK? Stop analyzing me!). I’m also a fan of young actors Logan Lerman (aka Percy Jackson) and Emma Watson (aka Hermione Granger).

5. Cloud Atlas

Tom-Tykwer-directed, Wachowskis co-written sci-fi movie where actors play characters in multiple time periods and a trippy-looking future world? That’s hopefully enough to override chills I get from the seriously creepy-looking preview stills.

6. Frankenweenie

Writer-director Tim Burton’s back with macabre stop-motion, yay! I enjoyed Nightmare Before Christmas and Corpse Bride, but now I wish he would imagine a unified world for his creepy creations.

7. Wuthering Heights

One of my favourite novels from the Victorian era (and from high school), I am looking forward to this moody, artsy film version, which has been released around the world for over a year.

8. Life of Pi

Another book that I loved, it looks like director Ang Lee has done a magical job at bringing the book to screen. I wonder if there’s going to be any dialogue (or voice-over).

9. Wreck-it Ralph

A fun-looking animated film that features a protagonist who is a Donkey-Kong-style video game villain who wants to break free. The ticket price seems worth it just to see all the amazing video game character cameos.

10. Anna Karenina

After her wonderful performance in Pride and Prejudice, I trust Keira Knightly to bring this novel’s title character to life. (I didn’t finish this novel in university, so I hope they’re doing an accurate rendition.)

11. Rise of the Guardians

Holiday icons (e.g. Santa Claus) reimagined kind of as magical super-heroes? Sounds awesome!

12. Skyfall

Enough with the grungy side-projects. Time for Daniel Craig to get back into style as the smoothest spy on earth. I don’t even care what the movie’s about (as long as it’s better than Quantum of Solace).

13. Les Miserables

Loved the musical, love Hugh Jackman in the lead as Jean Valjean. The rest of the cast seems pretty good, too. Russell Crowe as Javert (didn’t know he could sing), Amanda Seyfried as Cosette (loved her in Mamma Mia), Sacha Baron Cohen and Helena Bonham Carter as the Thenardiers (great casting!), and Anne Hathaway as Fantine (maybe she can pull it off). Even Broadway legend Colm Wilkinson makes a cameo.

14. Django Unchained

If anyone can make me enjoy a western, it’s Tarantino. I have no idea what the story is about, but I’m not sure that it really matters. Plus, Christoph Waltz is back!

15. The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

This is easily my most anticipated movie (though it comes at the end of the year). I hope it proves worthy of director Peter Jackson’s own Lord of the Rings legacy. I’m not a huge fan of dwarves, but some of them look pretty cool.

So, the fall looks pretty exciting (especially the last bit). Let’s hope it all lives up to the hype.

Leave a Reply

