Idol Worship?

American Idol performs Shout to the Lord but I have to say, I’m pretty ambivalent about it. I love this song. It’s one of my favourite worship songs, so it’s nice to hear it being performed (even if they substitute “Shepherd” for “Jesus” — does that make it less religious? less Christian? not really). But, American Idol wants to worship? I doubt that. (Granted, I’m not a regular watcher of the show. I just keep up on it via a great show on my Tivo called TV Junkies which reviews/recaps each episode.) I guess since it was the charity-minded “American Idol Gives Back” episode, producers needed something to wrap up the show in a wholesome, inspiring way and I guess they figured that a Christian worship song was the way to go. Uh, I dunno about that.

First, you can tell the performers weren’t really into the song. They might have tried to embellish it (in that fake Gospel-ly, let me try to express soulfulness way) but the zombie-like stepping from side to side in sync was actually a bit more creepy (or at least dull) than inspiring. It’s hard to get past the shallowness that seems inherent in American Idol. I guess the all-white wardrobe was meant to be angelic as well. We kind of end up with a mish-mash of inspirational/Christian cliches. Heaven help us if they ever do a hymns tribute episode!

Leave a Reply

