2007 Season Finales

Another television season has ended, and on some cliffs we’ve been left hanging–but nothing to make me crave next season. Alias, Battlestar, Lost, X-Files, and even Friends was always good for some major game-changing in the last episode, but this year’s shows aren’t quite stringing me along for next fall.

heroesfinale.jpg

Heroes – “How To Stop An Exploding Man”

It’s a top-notch show and definitely the best new show of the season, so I shouldn’t be hard on the underwhelming finale. But where was the big gathering of heroes to stop the explosion from Peter’s dreams? Why didn’t Peter just fly away himself? I don’t know about you, but I am not looking forward to Hiro in feudal Japan. This series totally rocks, but the finale gets only a 3.5 out of 5.

Veronica Mars – “The Bitch Is Back”

This season was not its best, but Veronica deserved a much better series finale. Nevertheless, it was Veronica in strong form (a little seedier because of the whole sex-tape plot), but if only Logan had kept his fists down and sparred verbally with Veronica instead, the series would have recaptured much of its former glory. I’m glad that the secret society story-line brought back Jake Kane, as an echo of his formerly manipulative self, but ending with ambiguity regarding Veronica and Keith’s father-daughter relationship left me saddened and unsatisfied. 4 out of 5.

How I Met Your Mother – “Something Blue”

Amazingly, this show decided to reveal the big mystery in the last episode rather than save it until next season. That was very kind of them. Knowing that Robin and Ted have broken up opens season 3 to return to the successful dynamic that existed in season 1. Despite the cuteness of Marshall and Lily, this is not a couples show. I really hope that we might get some hints about the titular mother/wife in Ted’s future this fall. 4 out of 5.

Battlestar Galactica – “Crossroads”

Aargh! I spoiled myself on this one because I read a blog post about who the four Cylons were going to be. That’s the only part of the finale that I cared about. Lee Adama’s journey is not interesting to me, and I especially felt no surprise at Starbuck’s return. I am interested to see what it means that she’s been to Earth, but I suspect it will be a cheap-out. 4 out of 5.

24 – “5:00am to 6:00am”

I really thought that they were going to pull something great out of a hat for this finale, but a totally blah season ended (albeit with an exploding oil platform) in a totally blah way. Even though I hated last season’s final moments with Jack being kidnapped by Chinese government thugs, at least it made me want to watch this season. After this finale, my only burning question is “Where did Jack park the car he drove to get to Heller’s place?” 2.5 out of 5.

Smallville – “Phantom”

I’m really getting tired of this show, but I can’t stop watching it. Maybe next year. Compared to the spectacularly faked death of Chloe several cliffhangers ago, this time I’m not sure I care if she’s alive or not (though she’s probably the most interesting character on the show). However, if her power is to give her life to save another, that’s too hokey and lame for words. I hadn’t heard that there was going to be Bizarro Clark, so I was pleasantly surprised by that. Unfortunately, the way they did is so off-canon that he’s just another evil Clark. The show is really retreading old ground. 3 out of 5 (3.5 if Lana’s really dead.)

simpsons24.jpg

Simpsons – “You Kent Always Say What You Want”

This 400th episode finale was not memorable. I would have preferred if the 399th episode spoof on 24 (including Jack Bauer himself) had been the finale. As a former 24 fan, that episode was an instant classic. 3.5 out of 5 for ep. 400, 4.5 out of 5 for ep. 399.

Medium – “Everything Comes To A Head”

I love this show, but I hate it when real life gets in the way of the supernatural stuff. It was a harrowing three episodes for me to watch poor Allison’s life get ruined because journalist Neve Campbell found out that she was helping the DA with her “psychic” powers and wrote an expose. The ending tied up thing way too neatly, and I didn’t doubt that Allison was correct all along (so to me that’s a misfire of suspense in the wrong direction), but I balance that against the relief that one of the best families on TV gets to have their lives back. 4 out of 5.

Supernatural – “All Hell Breaks Loose”

This season was much better than season 1, the continuing theme of Sam and the other chosen ones gaining powers and potentially turning evil was like “Heroes” on the dark side. There was a lot of potential for a seriously huge finale. Unfortunately it all got scaled down by the end and it became almost a repeat of last season’s finale (with the yellow-eyed demon and even papa Winchester reappearing). It was an OK episode in itself, but considering the build-up, kind of a let-down. 3.5 out of 5.

lostfinale.jpg

Lost – “Through The Looking Glass”

With all the hype leading up to it, I was seriously disappointed. I’m fine with the idea of flash-forwards, but those future scenes were dull and cryptic. How many times do we need to see Jack act self-righteous? I was momentarily intrigued by the revelation that Naomi’s boat wasn’t sent by Penny, but that whole chain-of-thought was too brief. Plus, why did Charlie need to drown? They were getting ready to put on scuba gear anyway. If the Looking Glass station got flooded, both he and Desmond could have survived. The season redeemed itself overall, but the finale scored only a 3 out of 5 (losing half a point for adding a whole new dimension of unanswered questions).

Leave a Reply

